Bookmark and Share
About the College

The LSU College of Science is committed to developing and maintaining world-class research programs, and educating the next generation of international leaders in the sciences.


The College is supported by a community of diverse, innovative and well-funded faculty and staff who remain on the cusp of scientific discovery.  Our faculty provide rich invaluable research experiences for undergraduate and graduate students to help prepare tomorrow’s scientists today for rewarding careers in education, medicine, research, business, or public service.



The mission of the College of Science is to provide the highest quality educational programs and to create and disseminate new knowledge through scientific research.  Through fulfillment of this mission, our students become scientifically literate citizens and our graduates have the opportunity to pursue successful careers in science and related disciplines.  We are committed to being the primary scientific intellectual resource for Louisiana and a leader in the nation, promoting economic development by the transfer of scientific knowledge into practice.



The vision of the College of Science is to be an international leader in scientific research and instruction, elevating LSU to the highest level of excellence among major research universities in the United States and the world.



The College consists of five academic departments: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology & Geophysics, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy, and the Museum of Natural Science.  The College includes 216 tenure-track faculty, 40 instructors, 58 administrative support staff, and 83 research and technical staff. The College also has more than $40 million in external funding for research.



We invite you to review our Strategic Plan, Formula for Excellence.